Hershey is one of the top selling brands in the world, so I know there are inquiring minds out there that want to know… are Hershey Kisses gluten free?
I’ve been a big fan of Hershey Kisses. I can devour these at an incredible rate. They only thing that slows me down is that wrapper. I don’t know why, but it always gives me trouble… That’s probably a good thing.
Could you imagine how fast we could eat a bag of Hershey Kisses if they were not individually wrapped?
The wait is over, I’m here to shed a little gluten free light on Hershey’s Kisses. Let’s Go!
Which Hershey Kisses are Gluten free?
Based on the Hershey’s website, the following varieties of Hershey Kisses are listed as gluten free:
- Hot Cocoa
- Hugs Candy
- Milk Chocolate Filled with Caramel
- Milk Chocolate Filled with Cherry Cordial Crème
- Dark Chocolate Filled with Mint Truffle
- Meltaway Milk Chocolates
- Milk Chocolate
- Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate
- Candy Cane
- Kiss Deluxe
- Creamy Milk Chocolate
- Creamy Milk Chocolate with Almonds
- Giant Kiss (7 oz. only)
Are Hershey’s Kisses Certified Gluten Free?
Hershey Kisses are not certified gluten free from a third party such as the Gluten Intolerance Group. However, Hershey’s does make some comments about their candy on their website regarding testing and FDA standards.
Hershey says the following: “A food bearing a gluten-free claim does not contain the protein from wheat, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, triticale, farina, vital gluten semolina, malt vinegar or protein derivatives of these foods, or, if such grain is present, the level of such gluten protein has been reduced to less than 20 parts per million.”
They go on to say, “The best way to determine if our products contain a gluten ingredient is to read our product label. This label includes an accurate, current listing of the ingredients in our products. Because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.”
Basically, according to Hershey, they meet FDA standards for less than 20ppm and they stand behind their marked labels.
Take that for what it is. If you have Celiac disease, then be mindful of those statements and make the best choice for you.
Gluten Free Dad’s Verdict
I’m always little hesitant when a large company does not get their product certified independently, but I think based on Hershey’s confidence in the FDA standard, that they can be considered safely gluten free.
Go ahead and enjoy a few… or a whole bag, you do you! No judgement here!
There are other gluten free candy options out there. Here are a few other deep dives I’ve done into candy brands. Hopefully you can find something to safely satisfy that sweet tooth!
Let me know your go to gluten free candy in the comments below! Thanks for stopping by!
Leave a Comment