Skittles have a special place in my heart! So I needed to know when I first went gluten free… are skittles gluten free?
When I was a kid, my dad would always get me a bag of skittles after my Little League baseball games. Specifically it was the Wild Berry Skittles or Tropical Skittles! The originals are good, but there is just something about the wild berry that gets me!
Either way I was a happy camper after games on my ride home as I devoured my bag of skittles!
So let’s get right to it! Skittles are considered gluten free!
The Skittles gluten free varieties
Mars Wrigley manufactures Skittles and there are nine varieties:
- Skittles Original
- Skittles Wild Berry (My favorite!)
- Skittles Tropical
- Skittles Sour
- Skittles Orchards
- Skittles Brightside
- Skittles Flavor Mash-Ups
- Skittles Sweet Heat
- Skittles Sweet and Sours
All of these are considered gluten free.
Are Skittles Certified Gluten Free
As I write this post, Skittles are not certified gluten free. Mars Wrigley does follow the FDA regulation as far as properly labelling their candy, but if you are looking for a third party certification from someone like the Gluten Intolerance Group, you will be disappointed.
What does this mean?
Well it means that there is risk of cross contamination. There are no gluten containing ingredients in Skittles, but Mars Wrigley cannot confirm that there is no cross contamination.
If they had the “certified gluten free” label we know and love, then you could rest a little easier, but it does not.
Just keep that in mind. From everything I’ve been reading and hearing though, Skittles are safe for all to include people with Celiac Disease. Here is a thread from Celiac.com that has some input from folks as well, just in case!
If you have any experience with this, good or bad, please leave a comment below!
Skittles Ingredient list
I will say the Mars Wrigley website does not do a good job in sharing the ingredients easily. I have read that they are buried a bit, but even when I dig I still can’t find them.
With that said, their packaging is labelled very clearly, so be sure to check each time you decide to consume them, because you never know when they mix up the recipe!
Gluten Free Dad’s Recommendation
Enjoy those Skittles on your gluten free diet! Always consider your personal circumstances and make the best decision for your needs, but from what I have read and experienced, Skittles are gluten free and ready to enjoy!
Let me know your thoughts below! Thanks for stopping by!