M&Ms are a candy staple in any household. One of my first questions when I began my gluten free diet a few years ago was… are M&Ms gluten free?
The short answer is yes, but they are not certified gluten free by Gluten Intolerance Group. If they were, they would have their fancy certified gluten free stamp which gives you a significant increase in your peace of mind. They certify over 60,000 products, so maybe one day!
Not every variation of M&Ms is gluten free per their ingredient label so you need to be careful and read the labels with caution.
Which M&Ms are Gluten Free?
Although they are not certified gluten free, they seem to be a good go to candy. Nima Sensor did a quick study and you can check our their results here to give you some more ease in you decision.
Here are the gluten free M&Ms variations and link to their ingredients on their website:
- Milk Chocolate M&Ms
- Peanut M&Ms
- Peanut Butter M&Ms
- Coffe Nut M&Ms
- Carmel M&Ms
- Thai Coconut M&Ms
- Almond M&Ms
- M&Ms minis
May Contain Wheat
One thing to look out for is the “may contain wheat.” The M&Ms listed above do not have that statement and do not have gluten containing ingredients. However, some M&Ms still have no gluten containing ingredients, but then have the statement “may contain.” I did not include those in my list above.
This is probably due to cross contamination issues or concerns. So I’d recommend staying away from those if that’s a concern for you.
All in all, I would suggest M&Ms can be safely consumed when eating a gluten free diet. As always, exercise your best judgement given your gluten sensitivity. Only you know what is best for you, but M&Ms are worth taking a look at!
Looking for other candy from the big companies? Beyondceliac.org is always a great resource as well. They have a very informative post with some of the top companies and their gluten free options.
Let me know if I missed any on my list or what feedback you may have. I would love to hear from you!
Leave a Comment