Are Snickers really gluten free? I’m here to take a look at one of the most popular candy bars around. We’ve all seen their commercials… Hungry? why wait. Grab a Snickers!
Their marketing and ad campaigns have always been great. I have laughed at many Snickers commercials.
Who makes Snickers Candy?
Snickers falls under the Mars company. They also own M&Ms, TWIX, Dove, 3 Musketeers, Milky Way, Combos, and Maltesers. So I guess you can say they have a lot going on there!
Mars claims Snickers is the best selling candy bar in the world. Honestly, I believe them. I’ve seen Snickers bars in just about every country I’ve been to. You really can beat the carmel, nougat, and peanuts all covered in milk chocolate. Ok, now I’m getting hungry!
We will just say they are popular and delicious!
So… are Snickers Gluten Free?
Well I’m sure you are ready for the answer! Snickers are considered gluten free by many. To include the folks at Celiac.com and my friends at BeyondCeliac.org. However, as always there are some caveats!
Snickers are NOT certified gluten free
Much like my favorite candy bar, Butterfingers, you will not see a certified gluten free logo from the Gluten Intolerance Group. Below is the old and new logo they are using for their certified products. This is not on Snickers bars.
It’s not the end of the world, but if you were looking for it to be certified like Oreos will be, then you will be disappointed.
What does Mars say?
I’ve been navigating the mars website and to be honest I’m a little disappointed. I cannot find any allergy information on their site. When I go to the nutrition link, it just takes me back to their main page. Bummer.
Nutrition information and more importantly, allergy information should be easier to find. It’s a candy bar, so I get that the nutrition information is probably not important to me if I want to eat one, but I do want to see the ingredients list and allergens.
I wish big companies like Mars would invest in gluten free certification. I’m sure it costs more and impacts their profits, but the gluten free community would benefit so much. It would also show us that they care and want to be transparent. Hopefully with Oreo getting certified, the other big brands follow!
Gluten Free Dad’s Recommendation
Snickers bars are marked fairly well in the store. They do not contain gluten ingredients. Their website info sucks.
Since I can validate through some other well known celiac and gluten free websites, I will stick with my recommendation that it is OK to eat Snickers on a gluten free diet, but as always, read carefully and consider your personal situation when making the choice.
Looking for more Gluten Free Candy?
If you are looking for more gluten free candy options, here are a few of the other types of candy that I have taken a deeper look at that are not linked earlier in this post!
Buy Gluten Free Candy Online!
If you don’t want to shoot out to the store or want to buy your favorite candy in bulk, I’ve found a great online candy shop call Old Time Candy Store! They are a great place to find all your gluten free favorites both old and new! Check them out! Use code GLUTENFREEDAD for a 10% discount too!
What do you think?
I’d love to hear if you agree or disagree in the comments below! What are your thoughts?
Thanks for stopping by!
Leave a Comment