Welcome! I know you are here for one thing… you are asking the question are airheads gluten free?
I’m a candy lover myself, so I know the feeling. Let’s jump right in so you can go enjoy this delicious candy!
Who makes Airheads?
According to their site, they have been around since 1946. They have over 17,000 employees selling in more than 150 countries. I really didn’t realize they were that old and that big!
Are Airheads Gluten Free?
The short answer is yes. Airheads are gluten free, but not every variety is gluten free. I’ve broken it down here to make it easy.
The following types of Airheads are listed as gluten free on their website:
The following are NOT gluten free:
- Xtremes Bites
- Soft Filled Bites
- Xtremes Sourfuls
Make sure you read the labels correctly. Our kids have quickly grabbed a bag thinking they were the gluten free variety. It’s a simple mistake.
Are Airheads Certified Gluten Free?
They are not certified gluten free. What this means is they follow the FDA regulations of properly labeling their ingredients, but a third party such as GIG does not give it a certified gluten free approval.
What this means is there is a certain level of cross contamination that could happen. If you have Celiac disease, you need to be mindful of this.
With half of their candy containing wheat, who is to say they don’t process in the same facility. Take this into consideration as you make the decision.
Only you know what is best for you. So arm yourself with all the information you need to make the decision. If cross contamination is not a big concern for you, then Airheads can be considered gluten free for you. At the end of the day, do what is best for you. Worst case, to get your sugar fix, go grab some certified gluten free Oreos!
Looking for some other candy favorites? I’ve taken a deeper look into some of the most well known brands and you will be surprised in several cases. Check them out here:
Let me know your Airheads experiences in the comments below. I’d love to hear from you! Cheers!