Starburst candy has been around for what seems like forever. So if you are on a gluten free diet, the question of are Starburst gluten free has probably come to mind at least once!
I will start off with this is another candy that will vary by geographical location and will take your own effort to decide if you can consume this candy or not.
Who makes Starburst?
They are a huge company that has many Lins of candy. If cross contamination is a concern for you, which it is for most, you definelty need to be on your best game with Mars candy.
Are Starburst Gluten Free?
The short answer to this question is yes. However, there is always an asterisk when it comes to food that is not certified gluten free from my favorite people at the Gluten Intolerance Group.
What I’m saying is that Starbursts do not have ingredients that contain gluten. So you could consider them gluten free, but they are not labelled gluten free.
What this means is there is always a risk of cross contamination. Considering how many types of food and products Mars produces, I imagine it can vary on their manufacturing process.
I’ve also read that Starburst in the United States is considered gluten free, but in Australia, they use wheat in the ingredients. Can someone down under confirm?!?!
Ultimately it’s up to you to decide. The Mars-Wrigley website does not provide a lot of nutrition information. The only thing you have to reference is the wrapper which has no gluten free label.
Per FDA regulations, the ingredient list can be trusted. Make the call for yourself as everyone is going to have their own restrictions.
Hopefully you are able to enjoy them, I’d love to hear your thoughts and comments below!