There are a few things you NEED to know when you ask the question: are Butterfingers gluten free?
I will start with saying that I LOVE Butterfingers. They have been my favorite candy bar for a long time and I’m glad at least some of their products are gluten free.
However, allow me to explain… it can get complicated.
Who Own’s Butterfinger?
This recipe change was actually labeled for a while on the wrappers as “improved recipe” in bright red which was not well received by customers. Their Instagram account was constantly trolled with people complaining the new recipe.
Butterfinger New and Improved Recipe
I tried both the new recipe and the old recipe at the same time… I actually could not tell a difference. They both tasted great. I understand the resistance to change from some folks, but the new recipe actually seemed to be a little softer and creamier. It didn’t get stuck as much in your teeth. Dentists everywhere should be happy!
Butterfingers are not certified gluten free
So the reason you are here… Butterfingers do not have the certified logo we know and love from the Gluten Intolerance Group. That’s the third party certification that is the most stringent in the industry. It would be nice if they got it certified like Oreo!
Some of their bars have their own “gluten free” label on the front. Keep in mind, it’s their own label. I’d suggest cross contamination could be a possibility.
Can we eat Butterfingers when eating gluten free?
Yes… but… read carefully. Their standard bars, minis, and king size have a gluten free label and I hope that we can trust that, but other versions do not.
So do what is best for you. Read the label VERY carefully and make an informed decision.
An issue I Found
One discrepancy I’ve found is between their labels and website. When I go on the website, all of their products say “contains wheat” or “may contain wheat”… but some of their actual packages in the store say gluten free.
At the end of the day, you have to do what’s best for you. I’ve heard some folks with Celiac disease have no issues with the ones actually labeled “gluten free”. I would definitely stay away from the ones that say “contains”, the others will need to be a judgement call only you can make.
Looking for a different type of candy? I’ve been working hard on taking a deeper look into some of our favorite brands. Check out these other reviews:
Let me know in the comments below what experiences you have had. I’d love to hear your inputs both good and bad.
Thanks for stopping by!