Can we eat gluten free at Taco Bell? I have seen this question many times. The short answer is… no, but… maybe?
I will say, if you have celiac disease, you should absolutely stay away from Taco Bell. I can’t imagine the risk of cross contamination will be worth the risk. Their food is not that good. Let’s be honest. So certified gluten free options at Taco Bell do not exist.
So How can Taco Bell be a Maybe?
It’s really pretty simple. They do have menu options that do not contain gluten ingredients. So technically some of their food options at Taco Bell could be gluten free.
Below is a quick screenshot from their allergy menu online of their tacos that they say do not have gluten ingredients. I will continue to remind you that there is very high risk of cross contamination though!
When Would you Recommend Taco Bell?
All most never. Taco Bell is not a terrible place. If you are on a gluten free diet and need a quick meal in a pinch, then maybe it would work. However, there are so many great gluten free options out there, I don’t think eating gluten free at Taco Bell should be a regular occurrence.
You’re on a long drive and it’s late, there are tons of Taco Bells on the highways, I’ll give it a hard maybe. After I have exhausted all other options though. I’d check out places like Chipotle or Qdoba, always a better choice if you are looking for tacos or burrito bowls.
Taco Bell even has a blog article on their site that tries to help you navigate their menu. I think the biggest takeaway from this article is their disclaimer at the bottom which states “Taco Bell® does not recommend products for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment when ordering.” I’d suggest putting the word “extreme” before judgement if you asked me!
The Best Option
In my opinion, the best option is to eat at home! Taco Tuesday at home is always better than eating out. I will take that option any day of the week! When you cook at home, you know exactly what ingredients you are putting in your body. You can’t beat fresh made guacamole or pico de Gallo. You really don’t know what crap ingredients go into Taco Bell food. Call it what it is…
So, I do not recommend Taco Bell for anyone, regardless of diet. However, it can be consumed by people on a gluten free diet, but anyone with any type of reaction or sensitivity to gluten should always look at other options!
Looking for other Fast Food Gluten Free Menu Options?
Here are a couple other gluten free menu options I’ve found. I have taken a deeper look into these restaurants and chains in the hopes to clear up confusion and help you make the best decision for yourself!
Let me know what you think in the comments! Would love to hear your thoughts. Maybe one day there will be true gluten free options at Taco Bell… it’s just not today.
Leave a Comment