Chocolate, root beer, sherberts, cake frostings, candies, ice creams, and cereals… these are just some of the foods that you have to give up on a gluten free diet if you have celiac disease; however, eating gluten free at Five Guys may not be one of them!
Taking so many foods and ingredients out of your diet can be tough. You have to learn new ways to cook for yourself at home. Eating out can be a nightmare for a while.
Thankfully, you’ve got places like Five Guys who are more than happy to accommodate people with food sensitivities. If you’re planning an attempt to eat gluten free at Five Guys anytime soon, here are some tips on how to make the most of your experience.
Gluten Free Burgers at Five Guys
Five Guys is known for is their delicious burger patties, which you can still enjoy, but without the bun. Unfortunately, they haven’t added a gluten free bun to their menu yet (we hope they do soon). You can ask them to wrap your burger in lettuce instead.
BYOB… Bring your own bun! I have not had to resort to this measure yet; however, you can always bring your own gluten free burger bun.
The Five Guys Original Steak Sauce is gluten free though. There are many complimentary gluten free toppings to choose from as well.
Are Five Guys’ Fries Gluten Free?
What’s a nice, greasy fast-food meal without a good helping of fries? Five Guys goes the extra mile to keep their fries gluten free. They’re freshly hand-cut every day and fried in peanut oil, which they don’t use to cook anything else.
What About Cross-Contamination?
Word on the street is that Five Guys have a dedicated fryer for burgers that is separate from the one used for buns to avoid cross-contamination. The staff is very careful to not mix orders or add any offending ingredients.
They even go as far as to change gloves and clean the prep surface areas every time they get a gluten free order.
Check The Gluten Free Menu Options
Five Guys not only publishes their menu online, but they also have a complete nutrition and allergy breakdown of each menu item. By checking the menu beforehand, you can make a note of dishes that require a substitute ingredient.
The good news is that most of the menu is gluten free. It’s all delicious stuff, so no need to sacrifice flavor for your gluten free burger. Don’t want to leave the house, then check out my gluten free burger you can make at home!
Still Make Sure To Ask
While you are safe getting a burger with lettuce instead of a bun with fries and a drink, I would still make it clear to the cashier that you cannot consume gluten. This is just to err on the side of caution.
There could be an employee who isn’t thinking and accidentally mixes pans or doesn’t wash his hand after making a burger, and it contaminates your food, which can lead to an upset stomach at best, or leaky gut at worst.
With that said though, we should thank the gluten free gods for this one, that we can enjoy delicious food at Five Guys completely gluten free with just a little effort.
Huge Thank you!
This is my first guest post and was beautifully written by Daniel Maman. Daniel is a co-owner of the health and fitness blog, My Phenom Fitness. He has his bachelor’s degree in exercise science and has been a personal trainer for over 10 years. As a nerd for all things health, he spends much of his free time learning about the latest physiology and nutrition research. In his free time, he enjoys playing basketball, spending time in nature, and spoiling his dog, Luna.
Daniel thank you for spending the time to write this article!