The Burger King gluten free menu options are limited to put it lightly. They do not have a gluten free menu and you will be walking into a cross contamination nightmare if you have celiac disease.
There are a couple of reasons why I would stay away from Burger King on a gluten free diet regardless of sensitivity level. I’ve never been a huge fan of Burger King, but they always seem pretty popular and the questions always come up.
Burger King Gluten Free Menu Lacks Details
Navigating their menu online is not user friendly or accurate. Before going to a restaurant I want to be able to see what is on the menu and see what is listed as gluten free with their ingredients. Not only does Burger King not do this. Their filters are not accurate. In the picture below, you can see I mark wheat and gluten as allergies, but it still gives me sandwich options. For someone new to a gluten free diet, this can be confusing and even dangerous!
I’m not a huge fan of fast food in general, but other places like McDonald’s are much more transparent and user friendly in their menu. They clearly list all allergens for each menu Item. Burger King has an allergen sheet, but it’s not broken down by ingredient.
Are Burger King Fries Gluten Free?
According to their allergen sheet, Burger King lists their fries as gluten free, or no wheat, but cooked in a shared fryer. I appreciate their honesty on the fryer, but I can’t find their ingredients list. They clearly list nutrition info, but no ingredients like McDonald’s does.
I find it hard to believe their fries don’t have similar ingredients as McDonald’s and McDonald’s fries are listed as containing gluten. Burger King would still be a no for me.
What is Gluten Free at Burger King?
Not a whole lot… from what I see off their allergen menu, the following are listed as “not containing wheat.” I won’t go so far as to call them gluten free.
- Crispy Tacos
- Garden Side Salad
- All fountain drinks/sodas
- Carmel Frappe
- Vanilla Coffee
- Moch Frappe
- French Fries
- Carmel Sundae
- Fudge Sundae
- Chocolate, Vanilla, Strawberry shakes
- Kids milk
- Apple sauce
- Chocolate milk
I am surprised to see they list their hash brows as not gluten free but their fries do not contain gluten.
What is the Recommendation?
You want to know my opinion? Steer clear of Burger King on a gluten free diet. Honestly, steer clear even on a regular diet! I really don’t see myself ever stopping at Burger King at this point. From the looks of it, I might be able to eat the fries and a salad… there are better and safer options at a gas station…
I hope I didn’t burst anyone’s bubble, but until Burger King cleans up their menu a bit, it will be a hard pass for this guy!
Agree or disagree? Let me know in the comments below! I would love to hear from you!
Leave a Comment